Library Resources for Aviation
We provide access to content such as online books, journals and image collections that can be used to lower or remove student textbook costs for students. To learn more, see the following:
Ebooks & Journals
Databases
Here is a sample of some of the journals, ebooks, videos, etc that may be used as class texts or as supplemental materials.
- Air and Space Law This link opens in a new window
The database illustrates the history of air and spaceflight through the programs and people that made these dreams possible. Bringing together documents on private sector pioneers with government-funded programs, users in this database are able to see how governments and regulators reacted to these new technologies, the accidents and disasters that prompted reform, and the new frontiers that await as technology advances at an improbable speed. Topics covered include: airline deregulation; air traffic control modernization; airline safety concerns in a post-9/11 world; drones; satellites and their essential function in modern life; the Space Shuttle Program, including investigation of the Columbia and Challenger disasters; the growing problem of space debris; and the increasing amount of private, commercial companies and their stake in space. Hein
Note: Remote access is restricted to UHV users. - Military Database This link opens in a new window
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Proquest
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Includes full-image articles, standards, and conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and the Institution of Electrical Engineers. The topics covered by this resource are computer science, various engineering fields, information science, and technology. IEEE
Note: Remote access is restricted to UHV users.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Searchable, browsable database of journals published by Elsevier Publishers. Subscription includes full-text access to about 1,200 journals in the health and life sciences, and the social sciences - including business, managements, economics, accounting, finance, and psychology. Abstracts, tables of contents and some complimentary full-text may be available in other subject areas. Elsevier
- Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases. It combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Proquest
Aviation
On this page you will find several open Aviation textbooks along with supplemental material. Many more may be found under Open Textbook Collections.
The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive. The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here.
Textbooks
- Aviation Weather Handbook FAA-H-8083-28 byPublication Date: 2023This handbook describes the United States (U.S.) aviation weather program, products, and services. It also documents weather theory and its application to aviation. The objective of this handbook is to help the pilot and operator understand the basics of weather, aviation weather hazards, and aviation weather products. The information included is not prescriptive. Furthermore, the guidance and recommendations in this handbook are not legally binding in their own right and will not be relied upon by the FAA as a separate basis for affirmative enforcement action or other administrative penalty. Conformity with the guidance and recommendations is voluntary only and nonconformity will not affect rights and obligations under existing statutes and regulation
- Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook – Powerplant (FAA-H-8083-32B) byPublication Date: 2014The Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook–Powerplant (FAA-H-8083-32B) is one of a series of three handbooks for persons preparing for certification as a powerplant mechanic. It is intended that this handbook provide the basic information on principles, fundamentals, and technical procedures in the subject matter areas relating to the powerplant rating. It is designed to aid students enrolled in a formal course of instruction, as well as the individual who is studying on his or her own. Since the knowledge requirements for the airframe and powerplant ratings closely parallel each other in some subject areas, the chapters which discuss fire protection systems and electrical systems contain some material which is also duplicated in the Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook–Airframe (FAA-H-8083-31B). This handbook contains an explanation of the units that make up each of the systems that bring fuel, air, and ignition together in an aircraft engine for combustion. It also contains information on engine construction features, lubrication systems, exhaust systems, cooling systems, cylinder removal and replacement, compression checks, and valve adjustments.
- Airplane Flying HandbookThe Airplane Flying Handbook provides basic knowledge that is essential for pilots. This handbook introduces basic pilot skills and knowledge that are essential for piloting airplanes. It provides information on transition to other airplanes and the operation of various airplane systems. It is developed by the Flight Standards Service, Airman Testing Standards Branch, in cooperation with various aviation educators and industry. This handbook is developed to assist student pilots learning to fly airplanes. It is also beneficial to pilots who wish to improve their flying proficiency and aeronautical knowledge, those pilots preparing for additional certificates or ratings, and flight instructors engaged in the instruction of both student and certificated pilots.
- Aerodynamics and Aircraft Performance, 3rd editionIntended for undergraduates, this text provides “stand alone” coverage of basic, subsonic, aircraft performance preceded by an introduction to the basics of aerodynamics that will provide a background sufficient to the understanding of the subjects to be studied in aircraft performance.
- Introduction to Aerospace Structures and MaterialsThis book provides an introduction to the discipline of aerospace structures and materials. It is the first book to date that includes all relevant aspects of this discipline within a single monologue. These aspects range from materials, manufacturing and processing techniques, to structures, design principles and structural performance, including aspects like durability and safety. With the purpose of introducing students into the basics of the entire discipline, the book presents the subjects broadly and loosely connected, adopting either a formal description or an informal walk around type of presentation.
- Aerodynamics and Aircraft PerformanceAerodynamics and Aircraft Performance, 3rd edition is a college undergraduate-level introductory textbook on aircraft aerodynamics and performance. This text is designed for a course in Aircraft Performance that is taught before the students have had any course in fluid mechanics, fluid dynamics, or aerodynamics. The text is meant to provide the essential information from these types of courses that is needed for teaching basic subsonic aircraft performance, and it is assumed that the students will learn the full story of aerodynamics in other, later courses. The text assumes that the students will have had a university level Physics sequence in which they will have been introduced to the most fundamental concepts of statics, dynamics, fluid mechanics, and basic conservation laws that are needed to understand the coverage that follows.
Air Safety Investigation: The Journey by Publication Date: 2023"Air Safety Investigation – The Journey" is an introductory book that explores the world of air safety investigation. Unlike a how-to manual for investigating aviation accidents, this book focuses on the essential knowledge and mindset required to conduct a safety investigation. It covers the various phases of an investigation, from gathering facts to formulating safety recommendations, with each chapter addressing a different relevant aspect. With the increasing complexity of investigations, critical thinking, logic, and speculation are essential skills for investigators to possess.
Supplemental Materials
- Aviation Handbooks & ManualsList of resources from the FAA
- Flight School ListA list of training manuals from the FAA
- Lewis University Aviation GuideA list of OER journals and websites in Aviation
- NSCC OER in AviationCurated list of books in Aviation from Pressbooks
License
All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. All linked-to content adheres to its respective license.
