Databases For Texas
- Index to Texas Magazines and Documents This link opens in a new windowEmphasis on Texas publications in business, education, history, and government, with magazines of general interest also included. VC/UHV Library
- Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Also available is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas. EBSCO
- Rand State Statistics - U.S. & Texas This link opens in a new windowRand Texas, a service of the nation’s leading think tank, is a portfolio of statistics on Texas and other states drawn from over 270 statistical databases in 14 categories: Population & Demographics; Health & Health Care; Business & Economics; Crimes, Prisons & Courts; Labor Force, Employment & Earnings; Energy; Environment, Resources & Weather; K-12 Education;Higher Education; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & Poverty; Social Insurance & Human Services; Transportation & Travel; Federal Government; State & Local Government. The Library's subscription includes U.S. and Texas statistics. Rand Corporation
- Old Maps OnlineThe OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
- Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new windowProduced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers. Proquest
- Texas State Library and Archives CommissionAccess to state archives and TRAIL , which searches and locates information from over 180 Texas state agency web servers.
- Texas Digital ArchivesProvides access to the electronic records collection for Texas. All images are unrestricted and available for public use. Photographs, audio and video recordings and documents on Texas
- Texas.govThe official website of the State of Texas
- Texas State DirectoryAlthough this is a commercial site, there is quite a lot of information available about Texas for free under the helpful links. This directory has been a source of information on government in Texas since 1935.
- Texas AlmanacLike the Texas State Directory, this is a commercial site with a lot of free content. By clicking on the topics listed on the left side of the screen, users can access content from the current Almanac.