LibAnswers: Research Help

You can set up email alerts to notify you when new material in your field is available through the UHV Library databases. These alerts are based on past searches. The instructions vary depending on the database platform. You will find the database platform in the database description on our Databases A-Z List.

ProQuest Databases:

1. Choose a specific ProQuest database and click on the link to enter it.
2. Click on the link "My Research" icon (looks like the silhouette of a person) in the upper right corner.
3. Click on the link "Create a My Research account" and fill out the form with your information.
4. Click on the "Alerts" tab.
5. Follow the ProQuest instructions to set up an alert.

Gale Databases:

1. Choose a specific Gale database and click on the link to enter it.
2. Click on the link "Sign In" at the top of the page.
3. Click on the link "New User" and fill out the form with your information.
4. Conduct a search. 
5. On the search result page, click "Save this search" from the Tools box on the right.
6. Enter a descriptive name for the search in the pop-up window.
7. Put a check mark in the box "Create Search Alert".
8. Select the frequency and format in which you want the system to check for new content based on your search criteria.
9. Click "Save Search".

EBSCO Databases: 

1. Choose a specific EBSCO database and click on the link to enter it.
2. Click on the "Sign In" link at the top of the page.
3. Click on the "Create a new Account" link and fill out the form with your information.
4. Conduct a search.
5. On the search result page, click "Alert/Save/Share" located above the first result.
6. Click "E-mail Alert".
7. Enter your email and change the General Settings if desired the click "Save Alert". 

ScienceDirect

1. Click on the link "ScienceDirect" in the A-Z List of All Databases.
2. Click "Register" at the top of the page if you are not already registered otherwise click "Sign In".
3. Click on "My alerts" in the navigation bar.
4. This page will instruct you for setting up Search Alert or a Topic Alert.

CQ Researcher

1. Click on the link "CQ Researcher" in the A-Z List of All Databases.
2. Click "Sign In/Sign Up."
3. Click "Your Profile".
4. Select "I want to create a new account".
5. Enter a username and password then click "Proceed".
6. Click "E-mail Alerts".
7. Click "Create New Alert".
8. Fill out the form and click "Save".